Your Oculus Games Will Be Lost Forever If You Delete Your Facebook Account

Gamers have recently discovered that there are serious repercussions to deleting their Facebook account, as it appears that doing so means they will permanently lose all their Oculus data and games.

Even though the Oculus Rift is currently considered to be one of the most popular virtual reality headsets available right now, it has received a lot of negative feedback over the last couple of months.

This is mostly due to the fact that the company is now requiring players to log in to their Facebook account if they want to make use of any Oculus VR device. As expected, this new announcement was met with negative reactions, especially since not everyone has Facebook accounts, to begin with.

That being said, this wouldn’t be the first time that Facebook and Oculus’ unification has caused issues for its users. For one thing, a lot of users made a complaint at the beginning of the year saying that they were unable to access and use their Oculus Quest 2 because of issues concerning their Facebook accounts.

This wasn’t an isolated case as well, as there were numerous complaints from different people. According to them, Facebook banned a bunch of new accounts that were only made just so that they can log in and use their Oculus products.

This issue was made even worse when Andrew Bosworth, the Vice President of Facebook Reality Labs, told customers that they should make sure that their account is “in good standing” before they purchase an Oculus headset in order to prevent any connection issues.

In recent news, users have discovered that deleting their Facebook account leads to the permanent loss of all their Oculus data, even including all the games they have bought before.

In addition to that, Twitter user CixLiv also pointed out that according to the Oculus VR headset’s terms and conditions, a user’s profile data is linked to their Facebook account. In other words, deactivating your Facebook account will only disable your Oculus profile and stops you from being able to access your games.

On the other hand, completely deleting your account means that you will also be permanently deleting all your Oculus data such as store credit, games, and achievements. What’s more, it appears that there’s no way to get back the deleted data once it’s gone.

In any case, the Oculus Quest 2 is the second VR headset that has been released by the company. This product features significantly better specs and has new inclusions as well compared to the previous headsets.

As a matter of fact, the Oculus Quest 2 has been buzzed about by the video game community for its ability to play virtual reality games even when it’s not connected to a console directly.

The new device has been up for preorders since September, and it’s actually $100 cheaper compared to the first Oculus headset. If you get the $299 package, you will be able to get your hands on two controllers and a glasses spacer, which is needed by those players who wear glasses.

The fact that Oculus users had to log into a Facebook account in order to play their VR games was already viewed negatively by players. However, this new information that has come to light will surely anger even more Oculus users.

Aletheia
Cat and literature-lover. I play RPG games when I have the time.
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Follow Us

231FansLike
6FollowersFollow
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x